News Story

NF Center Faculty Awarded Prestigious Francis S. Collins Scholars Award

Photo by Victoria Ruan.

Angela C. Hirbe, MD, PhD, Assistant Professor in the Division of Medical Oncology at Washington University, was recently selected as a 2017 recipient of the Francis S. Collins Scholars Award in Neurofibromatosis Clinical and Translational Research.
The Francis S. Collins Scholars Program in Neurofibromatosis Clinical and Translational Research was established to build a community of exceptional clinician scientists who will lead neurofibromatosis type 1 (NF1) research and clinical care.
The Scholars Program is named in honor of Dr. Francis S. Collins, who led the team that discovered the NF1 gene in 1990. In addition to this work, Dr. Collins has been at the forefront of advancing translational science in his roles as Director of the National Institutes of Health (NIH) and former Director of the National Human Genome Research Institute.
By providing the “Collins Scholars” with critical support and training in the management of NF1 and the conduct of rigorous clinical translational research, the program aims to revolutionize the field of NF1 and improve treatment options for patients now and in the future.
Dr. Hirbe’s clinical and research expertise is focused on malignant peripheral nerve sheath tumors (MPNSTs) in individuals with NF1. We are so proud to celebrate this honor with her!